Compost Pile Heat

Gilroy, CA(Zone 9b)

So the question here is heat. My pile (only 3 weeks old) is by all definition warm.

Before I turn my pile, The top of the pile is most definetely warm to the touch and you can feel heat generating from the pile.

When I turn my pile, I quickly remove my gloves and dip my hands into the pile and i feel warmth, warmer than the top, but not hot (like 150 degree hot).

The pile compacts to about 50% of its size weekly and I am not too worried about this yet... Or.. Should I be????

Phoenix, AZ(Zone 9b)

As the pile decomposes it will become smaller so that's expected. I use a cheap meat thermometer to test the temp. Have been able to get mine up to about 140° but it only sustains that temp for a couple of days because I'm not too good at keeping the ratio precise.

Virginia Beach, VA

I do no0t turn mine and they come out okay. I already have a big pile aside from the 3 big trash bins and have enough to use in spring.

Belle

Sacramento, CA(Zone 9a)

It sounds like your pile is chugging right along. It also sounds like you're interested in the temperature. Did you know they make compost thermometers? I received one as a gift. It's somewhat useful - maybe not useful enough to justify the cost - but it's a lot of fun for curious minds.

http://www.groworganic.com/reotemp-compost-thermometer-20.html

Thumbnail by GardenSox
Phoenix, AZ(Zone 9b)

That looks nice, easy to read but frankly, you don't need to spend that much. Just get a cheap meat thermometer from the grocery store.......or 99 cent store. Works fine.

Sacramento, CA(Zone 9a)

Mary - I totally agree. I wouldn't have spent that much on it either. I received it as a gift. I do like the extra long probe though because it means I can get a read on the middle of the pile.

Phoenix, AZ(Zone 9b)