Help for Newbie- Adenium Obesum 'Canary' looks sick

Central Coast, CA(Zone 10a)

Hello,
I am brand new to Adenium and bought this one about 3 months ago from a reputable online nursery. It arrived in a 4" pot and I followed the directions and did my own research. It has not seemed to adapt to it's new home very well. During the summer, I placed it in strong sunlight outdoors. When new growth would appear, the leaves seemed to fry so I began leaving it in full morning sun, gave it a break during the peak afternoon sun and then placed it back in direct sun in the evening. Surprisingly, Montana summers are very hot and dry so it seemed as though the conditions were "right".

The plant didn't seem to do much, but it was putting out new growth at a regular rate. Once the days started getting shorter, more and more leaves would yellow and drop. I am now left with what you see in the photos. It has been in the house for about a month due to extreme temp fluctuations. I have it in a South window and the average temp stays between 65-80 day and night.

The leaves continue to yellow and drop, I have ceased watering. I have it planted in a mostly perlite mix with a gritty soil (70/30?). I do fertilize about once a month with Schultz 10-15-10- all of my plants get this treatment. This plant has only received water about once a month for the past 2.

Am I fertilizing wrong? I have also noticed that one of the larger leaves appears to be dying from the side, almost as if it were attacked by an insect. The photos show that. Does this look like a normal neglect/ignorance issue or does it look like a pest? I potted it in a small clay pot, just slightly larger than the shipping pot. Does it need a new pot?

Thanks for any advice. I have also included a photo of it next to a large coffee mug for scale. Thanks!

Thumbnail by GeminisGreen

Underside of leaf

scale

Yardley, PA