I'm Here!!! (just joined) Have lots of Questions

Gilroy, CA(Zone 9b)

Juat call me the addicted gardener. Have a couple of general questions about compost. My name is Bruce, I live in Gilroy Ca (garlic capital) but I am a 2 year newbie at backyard gardening and many years in containers and balcony.

So I hear them say, I can put just about anything in a compost pile, but in mine I am just putting all my plant waste (flower and garden scraps), Grass clipiings, Tree Prunings, cover crop (oat) clippings and coffee grounds and egg shells. Thats just about all I am putting in there.

I turn over my compost pile about 2x a week and feel the heat. It's not alott but it seems to be compacting to about half its original hiegth eack week.

If I am missing a step, I take all good advise.

My compost bin/pile is 3'x3'x3' 4post/chicken wire with tarp top and sit in the sun about 8-10hrs per day.

also, my tarp cover only covers about the top half of my bin. Should I cover it completely?

Virginia Beach, VA

You are doing a good job already. As far as covering half is good however if you want the decompoistion to be faster then cover the whole thing.

Some one may think otherwise.

Belle

This message was edited Oct 24, 2011 1:47 PM

Charlotte, NC(Zone 7b)

My compost bins would dry out when they were in full sun. Now they are in the shade, the contents breakdown without having to add water frequently.

Gilroy, CA(Zone 9b)

Humidity range here is about 60-85% most of the time and the rainy season is coming, so I will most likely cover the bin with the tarp.

And I throw water on cover crop 2x a week. Residual moisture gets in there I'm sure.

Provo, UT(Zone 5a)

sounds like your doing a great job onecool !!
my composts are always in full sun.. i water them every time i turn them..usually 2 times/week..
mine cook down to just less than half too..so thats good..
i dont cover mine ..even in winter..but then the compost is done by nov for me..