Starting from seed wizard sun golden coleus

Morgantown, WV

Hi, I have just received seeds I bought for Wizard Sun Golden Colsus. I have read a little about the Coleus plant. I believe I read that they grow slowly. This is the middle of Oct. would it be ok if I started this plant now and grew it under lights till spring? Anyone have any suggestions before I begin this? Or should I wait longer? Anyone learn the hard way in how to grow these from seed? As you see I am a newbie at growing this. Thanks for any opinions.

Lake Stevens, WA

I think it's a bit early. New Years Day would better. Lets see what others think.

Stockholm, Sweden

Coleus grow very slowly from seed, and that's a mystery to me, since they grow soooo fast when you get them as "cuttings" instead of sowing them.
Alice

This message was edited Jan 3, 2012 11:09 AM

Mount Laurel, NJ

Well it depends on how much room you have and how much light. If they grow slowly, I'd start them now under lights. I use the 4 ft shop lights and they seem to do fine. Keep them 3in to 6 in from the lights. If they get too tall, you can cut them and have a stem cutting to plant. That way you'll have more and bigger plants by spring.

Stamford, CT(Zone 6b)

Whenever I start anything from seed, I start them in 5-5 inch peat pots in about 1 inch of soil, either covred or uncovered. After they grow their first set of secondary (true) leaves, I gradually add a bit more soil or potting mix. As they grow taller, I add a bit more soil. You should get a stronger root system that way. I'd start sowing some now just to see the timing. If they do well, you'll be able to make lots of cuttings for full pots by spring. I would not worry about light until you see germination, but definitely keep them warm. I like peat pots because they can be watered form the bottom and will take up just what they need without disturbing the soil. Otherwise I'd water with a fine mist.