Do Morning Glory Hybridize Easily?

Holladay, UT(Zone 5a)

Hi Everyone,

I've been growing Morning Glory, on and off, for a few years now. This Spring though, I went a little crazy, and planted it along about 50 to 60 feet of fence. My husband put lattice along the length of the fence at the top for it to grow it. It looks awesome!

I've been collecting seeds, and wanted to know if Morning Glory is easy to hybridize? I have no plans to hybridize them myself, but I've seen lots of bees having their way with the blooms. I'm just wondering how likely it is that the seeds will be like the plant I got them from, or something different. I would love to see some hybrids! I'm keeping track, the best I can, of which Morning Glory the seeds came from, so I'll be more likely to spot a hybrid next year. Hopefully it's not too hard to get a hybrid, but I never see many different varieties for sale, so I'm thinking that it's not the easiest thing to do.

I planted each "variety" in four foot sections, and it has looked really nice! However, some have twisted their way over to the next section, so things are really nicely mixed toward the top of the fence.

Natalie

Jacksonville, AR(Zone 7b)

Hi Natalie, you might check out the sticky thread at the very top of the MG forum. I'm sure it has quite a bit of info on hybridizing that should prove useful to you.

Holladay, UT(Zone 5a)

Thanks patootie! I'll do that!

I love your name! My grandma said patootie all the time and it always made me laugh!

Natalie

Jacksonville, AR(Zone 7b)

Yes, its a fun nick name. :-) My grandkids get a big kick out of it.

Clatskanie, OR(Zone 8a)

Hi there. You have asked the same question we have all asked here at one time or another. Generally speaking, morning glories have a lot of pollination quirks. If all the mgs you grow descended from the same specie, then you can hybridize them.