Digging up Dahlias

Orgiva, Granada, Spain

I want to dig up my Dahlias and split the rhizomes fro next year, when is the earliest I can do this? this is my first year growing Dahlias

(Mary) Anchorage, AK(Zone 4b)

Well, we wait til the first frost when the plants get bitten and the plant droops. This sends a signal to the dahlias that it is time to put energy into the tubers in preparation for winter.Wait a few days to a week, then dig them. Not sure how this would be done in Spain as I am not sure you ever see frost. DG'ers down south. When do you dig yours?

Orgiva, Granada, Spain

Thanks Oberon, we get light frosts here so I'll look for the droop!

Yes. Mine turn a yukky sort of grey and rather than droop, they really wilt! What are your average winter and summer temps?

Orgiva, Granada, Spain

Our average is low 2 - 4 high 35. Would it be OK to put the saved rhizomes straight into compost?

Not compost. I believe they would rot. We wash them well with a garden hose usually, set them upside down on a screen to dry for about 24 hours. I try to dust them with a powdered fungicide if I can find it, then wrap tightly in plastic wrap. Sounds nuts and there are other ways to do it, but the plastic wrap keeps them from dessicating, and if one rots it doesnt effect the others. Just be sure they are dry; get the dirt out from between the tuberous mass as best you can, then dry; they can dry a day or so, depends on your air moisture and temp; just don't let them shrivel. Then the tricky part. They need to be stored between 45-50 degrees or as close as you can get and in darkness. They will start to send out shoots (at least here they do) in early March. You should take them out and put them up, or put them in your garden if there is no danger of a frost. Actually, since they are pretty much underground, that might not be an issue.

Sacramento, CA(Zone 9a)