Is this the Invasive type of "Fall Clematis"?

Big Flats, NY(Zone 5b)

Hi, I was reading some older entries in the Dave's Garden Clematis forum and came across references to a form of Autumn clematis becoming very invasive. Can anyone tell me if this is the invasive form? It will be blooming in a couple of days! Thank you, Lee Sherwood McDonald

Thumbnail by GREENSIDEUP
Williamstown, NJ(Zone 6b)

Yes, Yes, Yes, do not plant it. You will wind up with it everywhere, in your lawn, in the trees. your next door neighbor will get it. I hate it. I have been pulling it out for 10 years and I am still finding it growing other places that it seeded.

Big Flats, NY(Zone 5b)

Marie, Thank you so much!! I will completely remove this plant before it has a chance to reseed. As soon as I see what might be seeds that could be close to mature I will cut it to ground level get rid of the entire top growth and dig out the roots. I do want to see it flower but, adios when the seed pods look to be heading to ward maturity. I will try to post picture of this whole process so we can all contribute to its demise!! Lee Sherwood McDonald

(Zone 4b)

I think many of you are too quick to dismiss this choice of "Sweet Autumn Clematis" (SAC). In the *right* location it can provide an impressive display of white flowers in the late summer and early fall.

By coincidence I took a picture just today of my only 2nd summer SAC beginning to 'open up'. It is starting up while the 'Madam Baron Veillard' that you see is on its last blooms:

Thumbnail by rouge21

I don't know about Canada, but it grows wild here.I see it in the woods all over. Maybe it you are growing it in a contained place it is not so bad, but I have had others agree that it will start to come up everywhere and you cant get rid of it.

(Zone 4b)

I find 'SAC' less difficult to control than 'Summer Snow'. Each spring I cut back both to the ground and that helps with the spread.

Big Flats, NY(Zone 5b)