Does pot size matter too much for adenium obesum?

Lancaster, United Kingdom

Hi there.
I've grown a desert rose from seed and it's about 6 inches high now, and i want to plant it in a slightly nicer pot. I've seen these being planted in all sorts of pots, some shallow, some deeper. Does it really matter how deep the pot is, I'm looking at a few bonsai pots at the moment, they're 5cm deep; are they too shallow? They're about 17cm wide (and circular). I want the pots to be suitable for a long time, assuming they were well looked after, roughly how long would it be before the desert rose outgrew the pot? Sorry if this is a newbie question, I'm really new to this.
Seb.

Palm Bay, FL(Zone 9b)

Check out the Caudicifoirms forum. You will find your answer there. I know some usually plant in pot a little larger and leave it there until the fat root sort of fills the pot. Then they repot and lift the root a little above soil. As the root gets fatter, they keep lifting it. They love the sun. I just bought one at Walmart but have to get rid of the glued rocks that are on top of soil.

Viking, MN

New here, I have 5+ Desert Roses, thinking about repotting my largest into bonsai pot. He's about 4" at base and a bit over 9" tall... I want to get him replanted into bonsai planter before he gets to much to handle. He's not happy in a regular flower pot, it stays to moist... any advice??? I don't want to put him in a planter he won't be happy in..

Liberty Hill, TX(Zone 8a)

You should start a new thread, it will get more traffic.This thread is old. Good Luck!

Lake Stevens, WA(Zone 8a)