Hail damage.

Nederland, CO

Hi. This is my first time posting in this forum. Need some help. A big hailstorm beat up my garden a couple days ago. The worst hit were my Delphiniums. This was to be the first year they would bloom. Several stems with buds were broken off. Is there any chance of reviving these plants so that they can put up new buds and bloom this year?

Same thing happened with some Daylilies, but I think the answer is no for those.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Thank you.

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Maybe this thread will make you feel better:
http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1110934/?hl=hail

Stake the delphiniums and hope for the best. Any broken branches of daylilies will not come back, sadly.

Good luck.

Nederland, CO

Thank you , Pirl. I'll do that. I never did get around to staking them. They were not very tall and holding their own. I've learned my lesson. I will check out the link you provided.

Try not to feel too bad about. I had to learn the hard way myself.

Nederland, CO

Would extra feeding help? fish emulsion? super-phosphate? Superthrive? anything else?

Nederland, CO

Pirl,
did Noreaster's garden recover? I do know something of what she went through because I've been fighting underground and above ground critters for three years since I moved to my current spot. I've had dozens and dozens of plants disappear overnight. The delphiniums don't get eaten so I thought I was safe with them. I never considered hail because we've never had rain in July, let alone hail. Ah, gardening in the CO mountains, fun fun fun.

I can only guess that a drink of some fertilizer might help since Delphiniums are heavy feeders.

Her garden did eventually recover. She and I both battle the slugs so if you have that problem, too, protect your delphinium with the slug product of your choice. Always read the label regarding pets (or visiting pets) for any product that kills slugs.