Want: Plants, pots, decor, etc.

Elkin, NC

I am a newbie at this whole gardening thing. I just started a couple of months ago and I am looking for any plants you may want to give away. My wife of 20 years has never asked me for anything...seriously...until this year. She is very low-maintenance. (: When I started a simple gardening project she commented that she would love to have a "garden oasis". Well, that was a couple of months, and several dollars, ago. So, I have turned to less expensive ideas to hopefully fulfill her one request of 20 years. Don't get me wrong, I have now found a new hobby that I love. I just can't afford to keep going like I was.

My main concern for her is that she have a peaceful haven where she can relax on her days and evening off from work. She was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis a few years ago and it has been in remission until this year. It's been an up-and-down year. I simply want to give her a place to relax and enjoy peaceful flowers, birds (I've installed several feeders), and all of God's creation. I am dreaming big so any pots, plants, decor, etc., would be great. I am in NC in zone 7a.

Thanks for your consideration.

This message was edited Jul 14, 2011 1:51 PM

This message was edited Jul 14, 2011 5:48 PM

This message was edited Jul 14, 2011 5:48 PM

Omega, GA

would you be willing to pay postage? What plant zone are you? Is this oasis in shade or sun? dry or wet or average?

Elkin, NC

Thanks for the reply. I'm in NC in zone 7a.

I could probably pay postage if it isn't too much. We (I) really went over budget on this venture though so it just depends. I hope that doesn't sound like I'm being cheap or complaining. But, when she finally asked something of me after 20 years I got a little excited and went overboard.