Polygonum orientales (Kiss me over the garden gate)

Long Beach, CA(Zone 10a)

I recently acquired a very haggard looking KMOTGG in a 4" pot at a flea market. I only bought it for the seeds which I now have plenty of, since it was blooming when I got it.

Having grown these in the past from 6 packs (you used to be able to get these anywhere years ago, but not anymore) I'm now reading that the seed needs to be chilled before it will germinate. Anyone know how long they need to be chilled, or how long they need to dry before doing so ? Also, how long do they take to germinate ?

Ideally, I'd like to plant them now, for this fall's bloom, but that probably won't happen from what I've read.

sun city, CA(Zone 9a)

i am a beginner but i have a packet of seeds for this plant and on it it says germination can take anywhere from 10 to 60 days and it needs 4-8 weeks of cold. it also says to plant within a year of harvest or they wont grow. hope this helps. i did get the seeds from a commercial site.

kc

Long Beach, CA(Zone 10a)

Thanks ! I was afraid it was too late for this year :(
How did yours do ?

sun city, CA(Zone 9a)

hate to admit are still sitting in the opened package. sigh.......... no doubt by the time i get around to planting them they wont germinate

kc

Delray Beach, FL(Zone 10b)

Maybe you could wintersow them? That works for most self seeding annuals and seeds needing a cold treatment. There is a wintersowing forum with lots of great information.

sun city, CA(Zone 9a)

thank you, and i meant to say unopened package, not opened. (fingers to fast for brain)

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)