How much should I water my lavender plants?

Houston, TX

Hi, I am a new gardener (if you can call what I do gardening, because I seem to be much better at killing plants :). I live in Houston, TX (Zone 8B) and am trying to grow potted lavender outdoors (my plants are still small, I bought them at a local nursery in 4in pots recently). I’ve read several books and forums on the subject, so I guess I’m reasonably well informed about the obvious facts concerning the care of lavender.

Rule #1: Don’t over-water!

So here is my problem. I’m a number-loving chemical engineer who is very detail-oriented, so I need specific numbers concerning exactly how much water lavender needs. I killed a couple of plants recently, I’m pretty certain, due to over-watering. I was watering them with the mist setting on the garden hose every two days for approximately 45-60 seconds. I learned recently to try not to get the leaves of the lavender wet and it’s better to water in the morning.

So, should I get a moisture meter? Any brand recommendations? Is there a rule of thumb I can use, like if the plant is indoors water ½ cup every 8 days, if the plant is outdoors, water 1 cup every 4 days?
The manager at the nursery suggested I water the lavender only when the plant shows signs of wilting, but we’re up to 100 deg F just about every day now, so I’m thinking that’s not good advice. Should I move my plants under growing lights indoors (we keep our thermostat on 76 deg F, so it’s relatively warm indoors)? If so, how much should I water them then?

Any suggestions/ideas would be most appreciated.

Happy Gardening!!

Tucson, AZ(Zone 9a)

Well, Arizona's a whole lot drier than Texas, but I would be concerned that the plants were being underwatered at the root level. I wouldn't use a mist setting, I'd use a soaker or other gentle, higher-volume delivery method in order to soak the root ball and surrounding soil thoroughly.