Please recomend a fertlizer schedule for clem

Presque Isle, MI(Zone 5a)

I am new to clems and am interested in a good fertlizer and monthly feeding.

Thanks

Garyt

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Here's a thread for you:
http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1177928/?hl=feeding+clematis

Here are more posts by JeanneTX, one of the major clematis growers here at Dave's Garden, regarding food and clematises in general:
JeanneTX
Willis, TX
(Zone 8b)

March 30, 2010
07:46 AM

Post #7666300

10-10-10- is a balanced fertilizer..Like I use the 13-13-13 often through out the growing season but in the Beginning of the season (when you see the leaf buds starting to green up) you should use a fertilizer like Rose or Tomato Fertilizer that has a high middle number ..the "P" in the N-P-K ratio because like Roses Clematis are heavy feeders and really respond to a higher "P"..so use one of those fertilizers now and AFTER it finishes its bloom cycle..NEVER use Rose or Tomato Fertilizer ONCE it has set flower buds as this will rush (Shorten) the bloom period..a flush of about 6 weeks will end up being a 2 week flush..and you know how we love to get each and every day of our blooms to last as long as possible..and they will love the composted cow manure you've put on them and don't forget your alfalfa tea!!

MORE:

JeanneTX wrote:
http://www.britishclematis.org.uk/qa_growing.htm