help with shrub selection please

Ffld County, CT(Zone 6b)

Hello everyone,

I'm not new to DG, but this is my first venture into this forum. I need help selecting a shrub and was hoping someone here could help.

A friend of mine has a newly-planted (last year) foundation bed on either side of her centered front door. It has spirea, hostas, heucherella, boxwood, and hakone grass, all of which are doing amazingly well.

The missing piece is that she wants a tall shrub on either side of the door. She is not a gardener, and I am not a designer, so we need help. We need evergreen, eight to ten feet tall, 3 feet wide (at the base), preferably pyramidal, half-sun/half shade (morning sun, but hot sun), quite good soil, zone 6. It would most likely have good wind protection, as it is against the house and additionally her front yard slopes upward and she has two large cherry trees on either side of the centered front walk. She currently has some wide fat hollies in this spot, in large pots, which she doesn't like.

I've come across what seemed like good choices at first, only to be done in by wildly conflicting descriptions, depending on what site you visit, especially when it comes to height. So I am hesitant to make a decision - I don't want to plant a 30-foot tree in her front bed!

Additionally, it seems like many things that might fit here are very slow growers, so they cost big bucks. I'm looking for something I can get at a reasonable price.

Since this is for someone else and not myself, and since she is not a gardener and doesn't understand the differing results one can have with plants, I am trying to find something as foolproof as possible, in terms of fitting her needs. She is pretty much looking for something like an alberta spruce, only about 3 feet taller.

Any suggestions would be most gratefully appreciated!

Thank you all!
Dee

Saraland, AL(Zone 8b)