Orchid Help

Ontario, CA(Zone 8b)

One of the two new orchids (a Phal) I had bought at a local orchid nursery is having problems. The grower keeps them in moss (not a bark mix) and he told me to water once every two weeks and that I wouldn't have to change the medium for a year. However, it's only been a week since I bought it, and I have not yet watered it (just misted) and it looks like there is mold growing on the top of the moss.

I think I should probably get all of them out of the moss and into an orchid bark mix which will not hold so much water and will hopefully not mold. Do I need to worry about breaking one or two roots if I'm having problems getting the moss out from between them? Should I spray the roots with a 10% bleach solution or with a hydrogen peroxide solution or something prior to repotting to kill any mold that might be on them?

Any other suggestions? I'm new to this orchid thing, and I'd really like them to live. I'm feeling more and more uncomfortable about the directions (and orchids) I got from this grower, though his looked good.

Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

Mold or algae? Can you post a photo? It would be unusual to see mold on sphagnum and algae generally is not harmful to the plant.

Ontario, CA(Zone 8b)

I think it's mold. It's kind of hard to see in the picture, but if you notice the fuzziness, that's the mold. Kind of a whitish grayish maybe? I think there may also be fungus gnat larvae in there too, as I saw a little bitty wormy looking thing. I think there is algae as well, as the medium does look kind of greenish. The other orchid I bought at the same time had that same greenish look to it, but it has not gotten moldy. I think it dries out quicker than this one.

I was thinking I'd repot into the better-gro special orchid bark mix and maybe treat with Physan 20 or hydrogen peroxide, just to be on the safe side?

Ontario, CA(Zone 8b)

Oops. Forgot to attach the picture.

Thumbnail by SkeptikSharon