Help, please: How to straighten out Carol Mackie Daphne?

Oak Park, IL

(Please note I'm also posting this in "Ask a Gardener.")

I have a lovely daphne that is I think unusual in that it has a little "trunk." It has been growing beautifully for years; however, it's on a bit of a tilt. (Mea culpa, must have planted it crooked.) So now I'm trying to determine how to get it to straighten up and fly right and be as stable as possible.

I'm attaching a photo of the daphne in bloom. To view the details you can go to my flickr album at: www.flicker.com - then add to the address the following: /photos/63293343@N08/sets/72157626789938036/

(Re the above: I tried to type in the link, but it doesn't show up as the whole thing. But I'll try again here and it might take you straight to the link (I'm a newbie. Sorry.): http://www.flickr.com/photos/63293343@N08/5751815569/in/set-72157626789938036/

Now that bloom time is over, I want to do something to correct this problem. Any suggestions? My thoughts have been (a) to do a better (tauter) job at staking it, (b) trying to dig under the roots on the high side and straighten it out from the roots - although I've heard daphnes don't like transplanting and this step would involve disturbing the roots, (c) just prune it so it's heavier on the high side and hope it rights itself, and (d) a combo of the above.

I'm also wondering if I should put more soil around it at the bottom, because I'm not sure that much of the curly root tops should be exposed.

Thanks in advance for any wisdom you can toss my way!

Thumbnail by EyeGarden
Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

I would get rid of the cables you have on it--if it's been in the ground for years its roots are holding it pretty firmly in position so that's not going to straighten it out.