Morning Glories from Seed

Ontario, CA(Zone 8b)

Hello All,

I'm a newbie to Dave's Garden (and Morning Glories and gardening in general). I've recently been working on exercising and strengthening my thumb to get it to turn green, as I've always had a bit of difficulty with keeping plants alive. I decided to try growing some different things from seed, as it is much cheaper that way, and if I kill it, it wasn't too big of an investment.

One of the seeds I had picked up was Morning Glory 'Heavenly Blue' (because it was marked as drought tolerant and pest free). I plan to start these inside and to keep in containers even after I move them outside. I read that the roots can escape the container, so plan to keep it sitting on concrete. Has anyone had any experience with keeping morning glories in containers long-term outside?

Also, for those that start from seed, what medium do you prefer for starting seeds and what procedures do you follow? I've read a couple different techniques, but was hoping to hear from someone who has actually done it.

Thank you in advance for any help, suggestions, or advice you are able and willing to offer! =)

(Becky) in Sebastian, FL(Zone 10a)

Sharon - Welcome to the MG Forum! Good luck sowing and growing your MG seeds this year! I grew Heavenly Blue last year and loved it. Mine turned out to be a dark blue shade of flowers and were a nice size! I grew mine in containers and used an arbor for it to climbing up! Made a beautiful area over a bench! It did well in containers for me, but I suspect it would have gotten even larger had it been planted in the ground. Heavenly Blue is an annual like many MGs are. (Though there are many species that are perennials, too!) So they have a season life and hopefully you will get seeds to grow them again the next year, too!