iris garden planning question

sun city, CA(Zone 9a)

do most of you plant your irises by color or type or some other way? i am trying to plan out a new garden and have only tall beardeds right now. not sure if i will get any other variety except maybe border bearded (saw one or two historicals i liked) are there pros or cons to planting all one color in the same area? mixing the colors? i am a novice and just planting cause i love them. ( i also dont know the names of most of mine, just the colors)

also i should add that i have been pouring over pictures for days and cannot decide.

This message was edited May 23, 2011 11:57 AM

Somerset, KY(Zone 6b)

I don't know what most people do, but I mix up my colors on my iris and daylilies and roses. I just love seeing the mixed colors as I walk thru the garden.

-South Central-, IL(Zone 6a)

I agree. If you leave them alone, they will turn into a BIG bed.

Lafayette, IN(Zone 5a)

I like mine with lots of different colors. My sister planted her flower beds with like colors together. Whites in one area, pink in another, red in another....etc. It is a huge L shaped bed at one corner of her yard. They have 2 acres of just yard so she has lots of room. I still like my colors mixed up!

Lafayette, IN(Zone 5a)

However, I like the blues and purples so when you see my yard, you would think I put all the blues/purples together! LOL!

South Hamilton, MA

Last year there was a picture of blue & white irises planted together which was very effective. Border irises bloom at the same time as TBs as a rule. You have to watch the height as they have shorter stalks.

sun city, CA(Zone 9a)

the border iris i saw a picture of was called jungle shadows, a very different color. if they are shorter than have to put them to the outside i guess., if i even get any. thank you for your thoughts

South Hamilton, MA