Help with rescued orchids please! No roots...

De Soto, KS(Zone 5b)

Saturday I rescued two orchids from Lowes reduced rack. The bigger one looked pretty sad, leaves were starting to shrivel and the plant was tightly packed in moss so I suspected a bad case of over watering. The smaller one was not nearly as bad off but still being packed in moss I knew probably had trouble brewing. I got these 2 home and went to repotting them right away. Sure enough, the moss was bone dry on the outside but wet and rotting on the inside. The roots of the bigger one were all completely dead or rotting. I started trimming hoping to find any good roots but I'm a beginner and didn't see anything I thought was viable. Long story short, I removed every root. I had read a little somewhere that you can sometimes save an orchid that's lost it's roots so I lightly firmed some moist medium bark orchid mix around it and put it where it would only get indirect light. The smaller orchid had 1/2 dozen or so roots that seemed okay so I trimmed the dead/rotting roots and potted it up and set it next to the other one.

I'm a real beginner, having only purchased my first orchid less than a year ago. Is there anything I can do to save these orchids? They are both named variety phals and I would love to see them recover. Any advice is more than welcome. Thanks!

Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

You can try unpotting both, dusting the cuts with cinnamon and placing on damp sphagnum. The bigger one is probably a goner but you can do the above, place a small wad of damp sphagnum, and surround it with a breathable plastic to raise humidity like the type used for packaging produce. The leaves are dessicated (shriveled) because the plant has no roots to uptake water. Even an experienced grower would have difficulty here and most likely toss the plant. You may prefer to leave the smaller one in its new medium. However, new bark does not maintain moisture well and under/over watering becomes an issue.