Woodland Restoration Suggestions Please

Kinston, NC

Greetings,
I wanted to introduce myself and seek out advice and community. I am a newbie here at Dave's, just working on my first trade, and having a wonderful time with all of the resources here. Last year we moved into a home on 5a of woodland. There is no lawn, we are pretty much surrounded to the house with woodland that has been left to its own devices for a very long time. As a result, there was good news and bad news. The good news, no chemicals have been used, the ecosystem seems pretty healthy for wildlife, the bad news, extensive Privet infestation, poison ivy vines 4" in diameter, grape vines even larger, extensive non-native Honeysuckle, and extensive Greenbriar along the sunny margins. There is at least one other shrub that I have yet to identify that will most likely qualify for invasive status.

My approach thus far is manual removal of unwanted materials and a wait-and-see what appears. So far so good. I did purchase some tree seedlings from the NC Forest Service this winter to start to restock the under-story destroyed by the Privet (Crabapple and Redbud thus far). My primary goal is a healthy native ecosystem but I'm not against pretty spring shows in the woods. I've been particularly amazed at the size of the underground sections of Greenbriar, some of which are a couple of pounds of bizarre looking tuber-link beasts with wiry roots. A great by product of this effort is me getting stronger each day!

This project will be ongoing as long as we live here. The environment ranges from a sunny margin on the lane, through mature, mixed hardwood and pine upland, then down the hill toward moist and then wetland sort of areas of mixed hardwood and pine, across the cleared sewer right-of-way, and along an incredibly infested area between a small creek and the right-of-way.