Help - worms trying to escape!!!

Fort Wayne, IN

I have been vermicomposting for about 5 years without any problems. However, last week I started a new worm bin. I started it the same way as previously - plastic bin, newspaper for bedding and wrapping the food in newspaper before burying it (seems to help keep odors away for me previously). The next day, I found ALL of my worms at the top of the bin trying to escape. My bedding was drier than I thought it should be so I added more water and put the worms back in the bin. Today (about 4 days later) I checked the bin again. I only had 4 worms at the top. I found all of the rest of the worms under the food I had buried but it does not appear that they have touched the food at all. Does anyone have any ideas what I am doing wrong? I am at a total loss, especially since my other bin never gave me any problems and has been doing really well. Thank you for your help!

Helena, MT

One idea that comes to mind is to steal half the media from your existing bin to start your new bin(s).

Wake Forest, NC(Zone 7b)

Several learned posts throughout DG suggest that the worms aren't eating the veggies but rather eat the by- products of the microbes which digest the veggies. (I think that was the process described, comments solicited.) At any rate, it seemed to take a week or two for the veggies to turn into worm food. Also, the people more thorough than I use their blender to mush up the veggies so the microbes would go to work quicker. Finally, mraider3's suggestion to steal half the media from the old bin sounds like a good idea (and fits in with my comment about the microbes) as you are putting in a good starter culture of microbes along with the veggies.

OK learned friends - did my failing memory screw this up or was it about right?

Paul

Helena, MT