Dahlia sprouts

Mentor, OH

I have several dahlia clumps that are showing sprouts on the stem only. Is there a chance they will produce a flowering plant? I'm kind of new at this and was under the assumption that the sprouts (eyes) must come off the individual tuber collars to produce a viable plant. Please advise. Dan

Thumbnail by psudan
(Mary) Anchorage, AK(Zone 4b)

Dan, how interesting. I grow a lot of dahlias of all sizes and shapes, although I have to dig them up each fall and store them. I also propagate from the tubers in the spring as well as just grow plants from stored tubers. I have seen this when I just lay my tubers in a flat, barely covered. But I usually just let them grow an inch or so and cut them off to root and make a new plant. I get as many as seems reasonable, then only allow one of the sprouts to grow and they do indeed product huge plants. Only thing I am not sure about (will write Kevin @ Corralitos' garden) is if they flower. Actually, that isn't true. I have one that I kept in the house, took at least six or seven cuttings, and it has flowered fairly profusely. Others don't show any buds. Not sure what the difference is. wonder if blooms depend on where on the tuber/stem the growth comes from. Maybe some of the other more knowledgeable gardeners here can answer that.

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Very interesting, Dan. Why don't you write to Swan Island, Dan's Dahlias or any other dahlia nursery and send them the photo when you ask about whether or not they will produce flowers. I'll be waiting with mstella and hope you will post the answer.

North Pole, AK(Zone 1)

Dan...what type of dahlia is that? I've only had that happen on my dahlia imperialis...Interesting.

Mentor, OH