What kind of soil for my containers?

Fallston, MD(Zone 6b)

I am new to container gardening and wish to plants various hardy perennials in large containers and leave them out all year long. My question is: what kind of soil should I use? Potting soil, garden soil, my own awful clay soil or a mix of all the above? Would greatly appreciate any thought on this, as I am now starting to pot em up!
Maryann

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Here's a thread by Tapla (Al) that explains all about soil, planting, drainage, containers:

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1073399/

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)

Your soil is the most important choice you'll make in establishing your container garden, so if you concentrate your efforts on learning what separates a good soil from the pack, you'll be taking a significant forward step in your quest for results you'll be satisfied with. The article Pirl linked you to will help you understand the soil/aeration/watering relationship, which is probably the source of more problems in container culture than any other aspect.

Al

St. Louis County, MO(Zone 5a)

Al, could you give me a quick, beginner words, synopsis? Like, buy these 3 things, mix them, add this to the bottom?

I've read your wonderful threads but truthfully, I don't understand it all.

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)

Buy pine bark that looks like what you see at 3, 6 or 9 o'clock below. Use 5 parts of it mixed with 1 part sphagnum peat and 1 part perlite. Add 1 tbsp dolomitic (garden) lime to each gallon of soil.