Hi! I thought I was a veteran gardner until I came here!

Machiasport, ME

Hello NE gardeners, you fearless souls
This marks my 6th year of trying to figure this soil and climate out. I'm in Machiasport Maine on the coast, and the sea is 80 feet from my garden. Before I came here, I almost never ate grocery store food for 40 years. Now, I face another try to grow ONE tomato full season (the 65 day to harvest). Last year, my sweet peas struggled the whole summer to crank out a few measly pints. I never knew slugs loved broccoli! wow...The soil is clay, sand and rock, but I've trucked in "good" garden soil. This soil never heats up even with black plastic! It's like perpetual spring weather during the summer. If I can't grow it, is there anybody who'd love to sell their excess, so I can CAN/freeze for next year? wow, I'm starting my seeds again....Anyone have any advice? I'd appreciate it.

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

If you have local farm stands that sell home grown tomatoes and other vegetables, you might want to ask the one that grows them just how they do it.

Other than that I would consider using heavy duty clear plastic hoisted and attached to rebar stakes to protect the plant from any wind on three sides, leaving the south side totally open to the sun.

Good luck!

Eastport and The Friendly Diner with those fantastic lobster rolls are just an hour east of you! They're better than tomatoes.

Machiasport, ME

Thanks pirl,
I should get out more! Somebody must have conquered this over here. But then, I notice I seem to be the only one trying to vegetable garden. (?!) Unfortunately, I haven't found homegrown produce....except lettuce, or spinach. Everything else is brought in.
Ok, my house is super small one room...I'm just going to turn it into a greenhouse. haha

Try growing whatever you want, despite the climate. It might be frustrating but you might also be encouraging others to try it.

Sleeping in a greenhouse sounds so lovely!

Salem Cnty, NJ(Zone 7b)