Cannas for Postage: New Trader Needs Tips for Prep and Shipping

Mountain View, CA(Zone 9b)

Hello.
I have cannas I'd like to offer for postage. But first, as a first-time trader, I have some questions about prep and shipping.
Currently, I have several cannas in a large container, about 14" wide x 37" long x 12" deep. They've been in this container for 1.5 to 2 years now, so they're well-established and crowded. I had hoped to dig these up before they started putting up new shoots and leaves, but our warmer weather has already encouraged new growth. I need to remove all of the cannas soon, before they crack the container, and so that I can get the container ready for other plants that I expect to arrive in a couple of weeks. But before I post my offer, I need to dig the cannas up so I know how many I have to offer. Given this information, I have the following questions:
1. When I dig up the rhizomes, I'll try to keep them as intact as possible, but for those that break, is there anything special I should do to care for them?
2. How much of the roots should be kept attached to the rhizomes if possible?
;3. What is the best way to store the rhizomes until I'm ready to ship them?
4. Once I am ready to ship them, what is the best way to pack them--Is it okay to pack them without soil? Should I wrap the rhizomes in damp paper towels? Or is there something else I should do?
5. I was thinking of shipping the cannas in USPS flat-rate priority mail boxes, but I don't know how postage is handled for these. Would this work? Can people send postage in advance for these? Or would it be better to ship them a different way?
6. Are there any other tips that I should know that I haven't asked yet?
Thanks for all your help!
Michelle

cullman, AL(Zone 7b)

Ok I'll do my best to answer all your questions
1) once out of the pot just leave all the peices over night or for 24 hours to dry out so where they were broken it's not wet