Wisteria

Mulberry, FL

Mines been going to town now for a couple weeks

Thumbnail by Danasplants
Lee's Summit, MO(Zone 6a)

Lovely! Mine is in bud right now.

Mulberry, FL

When the grounds purple that tells me, mines way up there, thanks!

Jacksonville, AR(Zone 7b)

DH planted a baby plant of Wisteria for me. Hope it grows for us and maybe I will have flowers next yr. I'll train it like a shrub.
Very pretty Dana.

Olivette, MO(Zone 6a)

Hi, I love the pretty blooms...georgous!

I'm new to growing wisteria. I'm in zone 6a and planted a Japanese "Rosea" and have never had a bloom. It has grown beautifully over the last year and a half but never a bud. Do they take time in the ground before blooming or do you suppose I'm not giving it something it wants. It gets regular watering and plenty of sunshine. The soil is okay but could have been amended more. It has been mulched in the past with a nice top coating that had some black kow in it but still...nothin'

Thanks,
Susan

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

Many plants will take a couple years to get going, and Wisteria have a reputation for sometimes taking a number of years to bloom (as much as 10 yrs) although plants grown from cuttings (as your 'Rosea' would have been) typically shouldn't take quite that long. Still might be year 3 or so before you see much though especially if it was small when you planted it.

Olivette, MO(Zone 6a)

Thanks for the quick reply. It wasn't tiny when I planted it...probably about 4' on bamboo stakes. Its up to about 10' twirling up a flag pole as a trellis. I'm trying to train it for an arbor although I got the vine before the arbor is in place...I'm always getting the cart before the horse :-) Maybe by next year I'll see some "pretties". I hope it doesn't take 10 years.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)