parmas and other scented violets

Greensboro, NC(Zone 8a)

Hi all, (i've been missing for about a year)..anyone else growing parma & other fragrant violets? I have several of each but of course would like more!!!

Searcy, AR(Zone 7b)

Is it too late to plant viola seeds outside . The ones I have are perennials. I am in zone 7a . It is already pretty warm here. Was 85 yesterday. Suppose to be around 70's to 80's all week. If not viola what can i plant seed wise . I am new at the seeds , so any help would be appreciated

Columbia, SC(Zone 8a)

Hi Dabneyrose, yes, I'm growing a collection of v. odorata varieties, e.g., "Rosina"; "Fair Oakes", etc. I'm anxiously awaiting for the new odorata "Miracle" series to reach the retail market in the U.S.; they appear to be only available in Europe presently.

Sierra Foothills, CA(Zone 8a)

Quote from catloverrachel :
Hi Dabneyrose, yes, I'm growing a collection of v. odorata varieties, e.g., "Rosina"; "Fair Oakes", etc. I'm anxiously awaiting for the new odorata "Miracle" series to reach the retail market in the U.S.; they appear to be only available in Europe presently.

Oh, please do tell us about the 'Miracle' series. do you have any pictures?

Columbia, SC(Zone 8a)

No, I don't have any pictures, but you can find some by Googling viola Miracle.

Searcy, AR(Zone 7b)

The viola seeds I planted are coming up in my flower bed. I am surprised since it didn't go thru a freeze. Maybe it was cold enough at night to do it. Although my nasturtiums are not so if they are not up by the 23rd I will replant.

Greensboro, NC(Zone 8a)

sorry, i've been MIA for a while...Rachel, how did your violets do through the summer heat? I lost most of mine to a virus (?) ( i ordered them from Oregon so maybe they didn't like the heat + humidity)...but i have a few left. The parmas did quite well this summer. : )