Help with ID please

Lyons, TX(Zone 8b)

I've received this orchid as a gift. There is no tag. Any ideas? I will include two pictures - one of the blooms and the other of the leaves/plant. Thanks in advance for your help!

Thumbnail by clcato
Lyons, TX(Zone 8b)

and now the leaves/plant

Thumbnail by clcato
Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

I am envious. Very beautiful plant and flowers. Maybe a Paraphalaenopsis hybrid with Paraphalaenopsis denevei as one parent.

Lyons, TX(Zone 8b)

That's a relief. I was fearful I had received a Vanda - and I'm a beginner! I do have a followup question, though. Today I found one leaf on this plant that was completely limp and - how do I describe - liquidy? Really soft and almost watery. Only one - and it was not one of the lower most leaves. Any idea what causes this? Is it a symptom of a deeper problem?

That's not good. I mean mostly the watery leaf. Cut it back with a clean razor as far from the rot as possible. It should be treated with something bactericidal. The other news you may not want to hear is what I meant by "Paraphalaenopsis hybrid". That would mean there is probably a Vanda parent in there too.

Odessa, FL(Zone 9b)

So why the vanda phobia? I think they are easier than phals.

Jim

Lyons, TX(Zone 8b)

ok - removed the leaf and treated with neosporin. Any idea what caused that? And what I may need to keep an eye out for? I've only had this one a couple of weeks - and I've been VERY cautious with watering.

Jim - everything I've been reading puts Vanda's in the "not for beginners" category. I'm very happy to hear you think they aren't as difficult as I've read!

They are labor intensive for most growers, need very high humidity and like it hot, hot, hot. I water mine heavily every day and fertilize twice a week almost year around. Jim does not need to do this because his are outdoors most of the time. They are not so hard if you can leave them out year around or have a gh but they do get large.

Lyons, TX(Zone 8b)