Will you help me plan this bed?

Plympton, MA(Zone 6a)

I am not very good at planning gardens! Any advice you can offer would be very much appreciated.

This is the side of my house, it is east-facing. As you can see, it is sloped with some rocks creating a bit of a terrace. There are a few hostas, which I can easily transplant somewhere else. Near the door is the hose attachment as well as the oil and the electrical meter, so those can't be blocked.

I like cottage-style gardens, with lots of soft color. I would like to use some flowering shrubs, perhaps Bloomerang Lilac. I'd also like to use some annuals so I can have color this year.

Thanks in advance :)
Heather

Thumbnail by rosymom
Denville, NJ(Zone 6b)

I am not good with planning but watching what advice you get

:)

central, NJ(Zone 6b)

Oh boy...I love this part!!!!

Let me think on it and I'll get back to ya

Plympton, MA(Zone 6a)

Yay! Thank you :)

central, NJ(Zone 6b)

Some questions.... you say east facing but how long does the sun actually hit this area? Are the hostas doing good there?

Naugatuck, CT(Zone 5a)

How is drainage, what is your budget , do you want a weekend project or are you looking to fill as you go and lastly, how much help do or will you have for the project.

Plympton, MA(Zone 6a)

The spot gets pretty good sun. There is some dappled shade in the afternoon. Beyond that, I have not measured how many hours it gets.

The hostas are still covered in snow, but they were just planted by the real estate agent when we bought the house in the fall.

There is good drainage. I would like to add as I go, hopefully starting with some shrubs and annuals, adding perennials and bulbs as I get a good feel for the land.

I have a very similar area on the opposite side of the house but it gets more shade.