Chipmunks and clems?

Culpeper, VA(Zone 7a)

Hello- I am new to the clematis forum and of course looking for advice. I'm contemplating purchasing a clematis for my mother, who lives in zone 5. There are two seemingly ready spots in her yard that could use a clem. One is a chain link fence that divides her property from next door. She has an established, mostly perennial flower bed in front of that which is quite spectacular. She also has on one side of the house a riotously large and vigorous rhododenron that is well over 40 years old. The chain link fence may be a no-brainer space since it is chain link, roots would have cover, etc. The idea, though, of a clematis rambling through the rhododenron is kind of compelling to me in a weird way. Would the soil under a rhod. be too acidic? Also, there is a pretty hearty chipmunk population that sees this HUGE shrub as their territory. Are chippies known to eat or hassle clematis?

Williamstown, NJ(Zone 6b)

I don't know about eating them but my issue with them is that they dig so much in the soil around the plants that the plants loose their grip in the soil and can die. I want my chipmunks gone.

Culpeper, VA(Zone 7a)

I hadn't thought of that angle. Thanks!
I have too many hawks to even have a single chipmunk at this property.

Send some of them Hawks this way...lol

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Send the deer eating hawks this way, please!

Culpeper, VA(Zone 7a)

I would if I could! I miss the rabbit family that used to prune my mini roses. They always ate just enough to make them flush out really well. They did a better pruning job than I!

Mount Laurel, NJ

Chipmunks are real easy to trap in a small hav-a-heart trap. With peanut butter for bait, you can get them within hours of setting.

I am getting one of them this year. I am tired of having to push my plants back down in the dirt and hoping they survive. It took the cake when they almost made my JM fall over and die from digging around it.

Portland, OR(Zone 8b)