What type of Sparrow?

Wappingers Falls, NY

Another one from last summer that I haven't identified 100%. I thought initially a song sparrow but I'm not so sure now.
As always any help gratefully received.

Thumbnail by ChirpChirp
Willis, TX(Zone 8b)

It looks like a female Red-winged Blackbird to me, but I'm not very good at bird IDs, so wait for the experts.

Patti

Northumberland, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)

Does look very like a female Red-winged Blackbird. Any more pics of it? I'd like a better view of the bill to be 100% sure.

Resin

Coon Rapids, MN(Zone 4a)

Not Red winged blackbird - beak is completely wrong shaped for it. Redwing have thinner beaks - this one have classic finch or sparrow shape beaks.

Coon Rapids, MN(Zone 4a)

look page 374 of Sibley - Identification of Sprizella sparrows - immatures can be very similiar

Sandusky, OH

Looks like an juvenile Chipping Sparrow...but not 100% on that.

Quote from Malus2006 :
Not Red winged blackbird - beak is completely wrong shaped for it. Redwing have thinner beaks - this one have classic finch or sparrow shape beaks. [/quote]

Remember the bill in the pic here is very foreshortened by its angle! Take that into account, and it may well be a long, fairly slender bill. It also looks like it probably has that characteristic Icterid low brow. That's why I want to see more pics.

[quote="Malus2006"]look page 374 of Sibley - Identification of Spizella sparrows

p. 484 in my copy ;-)

Otherwise, the tail looks too long for a Spizella sparrow?

I reckon this one will have to stay unidentified unless there are more pices.

Resin

Coon Rapids, MN(Zone 4a)

ChirpChirp what do you think?

Coon Rapids, MN(Zone 4a)

To me it's a sparrow - typical sparrow behavior - foraging in the grass in the open on the ground. Redwing blackbird females are mostly secertive and doesn't wander much from their cattail habitation. I have seen them at feeders and they look more similiar to female red breast grosbeak in size than to sparrows.