cooking with herbs

Langley, WA(Zone 7b)

Yikes! I've just been asked to teach a cooking with herbs class as part of an all-day gardening symposium. I have til sunday to tell them yes or no. I don't even know where to start to figure out what I'd do. Any suggestions? I would like it to be a demo class of some kind.

Middleburgh, NY

Herb of the year is horseradish. Cook with that. How long is your demo/class?

Langley, WA(Zone 7b)

I think it's about and hour and 15 minutes.

I didn't know horseradish was an herb! Interesting. I think herb of the year last year was tarragon. Not my favorite but certainly easy enough to showcase. Horseradish is more of a challenge. I've heard it's invasive to grow

Augusta, GA

Gwendalou. I hope you told them yes! I would be happy to give you some ideas. I have been speaking on hers for 11 years . Most talks some kind of demo, even cooking in electric griddle!
DrtyMrtha

Middleburgh, NY

Last year, the herb of the year was dill. This year horseradish. Next year, roses. Go to the Herb Society of America's web site and peruse the article they have on horseradish - it should give you ideas.

Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)

The March issue of Herb Companion has a write up on Horseradish too, complete with recipes. http://www.herbcompanion.com/search.aspx?search=horseradish

I did not know it was an herb but have always liked it. For medicinal purposes, it is a mild diruetic which can be good. On the down side, it is recommended to use with caution on thyroid issues. Tasty ~ yum!

Langley, WA(Zone 7b)

Well, I told them no. I decided it was too much stress and work for me right now. I had a bad fall that resulted in angioplasty in December and am trying to 'just say no' to the neverending requests for volunteering. I am going to keep all the ideas everyone suggested and maybe I will do it sometime in the future. Thanks everyone!

Middleburgh, NY

Hope you heal quickly Gwendalou!

Langley, WA(Zone 7b)