Red wigglers in the garden!

Helena, MT

I think we are all in agreement here that red wigglers are thought of as strictly compost worms. However, using them in the garden may not be a bad idea, especially if your garden doesn't have an ample supply of indegenous worms. I have been gardening here in Montana for going on six years and have yet to find an indegenous earthworm in my yard or garden. So the thought occurred to me why not transplant some red wigglers into the garden where appropriate.

Tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, squash, mellons and pumpkins in my garden all start with a two foot diameter hole which is dug from one to two feet deep depending on the type of plant being placed in the hole. The hole is refilled with a mixture of well composted cow manure and soil from the top six inches of the garden.along with the appropriate fertilizer(s). Also a heaping handful or two of worms from one of my indoor compost bins is added as well. Although I don't expect any if any of these worms will survive our harsh winters they certainly will do an adequate job of aerating the soil, especially if aided by regular cultivations. I use a drip feed system for all of the above plants and over a period of time the surface of the soil becomes crusted over. Regular cultivation not only helps the plants but will assist these transplant worms as well. I have read only a few articles on the importace of aeration to the roots of plants, but in each of these articles it is stated that aeration is as important as any other factor in the growing process, and what better means to aerate the root system of plants than worms.

Charlotte, NC(Zone 7b)

mraider3 - This is a quote from "Gardens Alive"

Quoting:
Note: Although redworms will work hard in your compost pile, they won't live in garden soil.

Here's a link:

http://www.gardensalive.com/product.asp?pn=5300

Helena, MT