WET compost

Thousand Oaks, CA(Zone 10a)

I'm new at this compost thing. I have really wet compost, not damp, wet, I put in wet coffee grounds, moist vegetable scraps, shredded paper etc.. I don;'t add water anymore, since it has become so wet. My question is what do I DO TO GET IT DRYer. Should I add more shredded paper, top soil, or bagged compost? Should I remove some of it and spread it around, although it is not quite composted?. It is in a tumbler, and it has become so heavy that I am having difficulty turning the tumbler. I have also added 2000 worms. Thanks,
Sue

Flower Mound, TX

You added worms to a tumbler?? Poor worms..

I'd add leaves or other clippings to help with the moisture issue...

Charlotte, NC(Zone 7b)

Were they composting worms, or earthworms?

If they are composting worms, I would dump the tumbler's contents into a pile and let the worms do their "thing."

If they are regular earthworms, I would spread the tumbler's contents out into a bed and let them escape.

http://www.ehow.com/facts_6155410_difference-red-worm-red-wiggler.html

Lynnwood, WA(Zone 7a)

A compost pile can heat up to 160 degrees. If your tumbler has the right proportions of carbon and nitrogen, and oxygen from turning regularly, and it reaches this highly desireable temperature, it will kill the worms. Worms are for vermicomposting which is a different system. I too would dump out your tumbler and let the worms do the work. Start over in the tumbler. I'm just feeling sorry for those worms. Or else I would just stop the turning and let the worms do the work in there.

Lynnwood, WA(Zone 7a)

Read about the Indore Composting System by Sir Albert Howard. He describes how to achieve finished compost in 14 days. If I knew how to link it I would.

Brady, TX(Zone 8a)

http://www.daenvis.org/technology/Indore.htm is a quick one I found.

Thank you everyone!