Hydroton and Prime Agra

Mountlake Terrace, WA(Zone 8a)

From Orchid Board (http://www.orchidboard.com/community/semi-hydroponic-culture/11140-hydroton-vs-prime-agra.html )

"I have been using all s/h for about 3 months now after having read everything that I could find about the process. This makes me a beginner. However, it was easier for me to get Hydroton at times when Ray was recovering from surgery and I couldn't order PrimeAgra. I have a mixed collection of compact Catts, Phals, Phrags, and Paphs. What I can say is that with the Hydroton I have not yet killed a plant and everything seems to be making roots and growing. I had several Phrags in Diatomite as a short term trial but I did not think that was going so well and moved them into Hydroton. I even have a Paph S Gratrix making a spike and a Phal Orchid World 'Joe' spiking from a plant that had been in sorry shape last Fall. Everything I read and see tells me that the particular LECA medium might matter a little but conditioning it, being careful to move plants into s/h as they are starting to grow, using the right water and fertilizer, and getting a consistent routine probably matter more. I bet that we could make Aliflor, PrimeAgra, and Hydroton (or any other LECA product) work if the other things are done correctly for our particular growing situations."

Same thread: