Arthur ?

Cedarhome, WA(Zone 8b)

Looking for tips on osteoarthritis. I thought I've been dodging the carpal tunnel bullet for the past several years, decided to get it officially diagnosed, and come to find out I have absolutely no CT, but do have our friend Arthur (both wrists). When I expressed my concern re gardening, the rheumotologist told me to find another hobby. Yikes. That isn't going to work... Other than common sense defense (alternate tasks, ice after hard work, slow down), any thoughts or suggestions? Maybe just some commiseration...

Vashon, WA(Zone 8b)

Surely, that is one insensitive rheumatologist. Don't they know the leopard can't change its spots and the gardener will wither if not able to keep on planting things. I don't know the medical details of arthritis, so I can't contribute anything definitive, but I imagine being careful not to stress the joints too much, and giving yourself frequent breaks could help. Maybe you can go to a physical therapist for flexibility exercises.

Lake Stevens, WA

BH
Sorry to hear about your hands. I too have been having pain but just in my finger joints. I will be interested to read what others do.

Dallas, OR(Zone 8a)

Having had CT surgery on both hands several years ago, I can understand your frustration with your Dr's suggestion. My Dr's advise for my hands and my back problems this past year was to keep active and do things in moderation. Your body (hands) will tell you when they have had enough. That is the time to stop and rest. No more marathon sessions in the garden for me, but it will get done ,just not as quick as I would like. I think diet & supplements may be an option to discuss with your Dr. or a new Dr. as the case may be. I take Glucosamine Chondroitin daily and I think it helps with joint pain etc... Here is a good article I found
http://www.arthritis-glucosamine.net/blog/osteoarthritis-diet.php

Hope you find relief and can continue gardening!

Woodinville, WA(Zone 8b)