Do you want a Brugmansia cutting next spring?

Ottawa, ON(Zone 5a)

A few weeks ago I brought my Brugs in from the frost and they are drying out and going dormant in their pots, all leaves and buds dropping as usual.

At this time of year, I usually take cuttings by sawing off several branches and placing them in buckets of water, with a little H2O2 hydrogen peroxide to prevent rotting. These are very weedy plants, and sprout lots of roots from the nodules on the stems. By spring, they are ready to plant.

I am planning to move to an apartment this coming May and will not have room for these gorgeous plants, alas. If you would like a cutting, let me know and I will save one for you. (I'm in Ottawa)

Regards, Andrew

Thumbnail by andycdn
Ottawa, ON(Zone 5a)

Andrew.....are you kidding me? Yes Yes I will love some cuttings please. I am a newbie on here and recently moved to Ottawa from the Toronto area. I am in Orleans, east ottawa.
If you have a whole plant that you might be thinking of selling, I might even buy that off you for a fee if you are willing to sell? It will save me rooting a cutting and waiting for it to get bigger come spring

Mick

Victoria, BC(Zone 8a)

Andrew, do you know which Brug that is? It looks like a prolific bloomer and the bottom leaves are so large!

Sorry to hear that you have to move into an apartment.

Victoria, BC(Zone 8a)

By the way, Mick... get some good rooting hormone powder and some moss. I dip the dampened bottom of the cutting in rooting hormone... wrap it it moss, mist it. Then take some saran wrap to wrap it up and mist it - not too damp - for awhile to get roots. This method works best for me. I have a very good success rate.

Just set them in plastic cups to support them.

Edmonton, AB(Zone 3a)

Teresa isn't there some trick to being above a Y so you get flowers? I had a friend with Brugs and I remembered something about that issue?
Ann

Victoria, BC(Zone 8a)