Brugs and the weather.

Mountlake Terrace, WA(Zone 8a)

So at the GE I was able to score a rooted stalk about 4 feet long, no leaves which was rooted, outgrowing its 1 gallon pot. Upon getting home I potted it up in a 2 gallon pot and left it in the garage which will be in the 45-55 range for the winter (it better, as it houses a number of Epiphyllums and species Pelargoniums which are dormant).

My question is this, should I plant it out only to dig up in the fall, or should I raise it in a 20 gallon pot (I got some of those 20 gallon buckets on sale, and drilled 1 1/4" through them multiple times) so that I can just drag it into garage in the fall?

I have no knowledge of hybrid, but it was a cutting from the church plants so I doubt it could be datura and not a Brug.

Lake Stevens, WA

I have 2 datura one a double white, one peach/ pink single. I have always kept them in large pots. Then bring them in the basement about now. Before a freeze anyway. Then in the spring about May set them out again. In the spring I pull them out of the pots cut off 1/4 of the bottom root sytsem and repot in fresh soil. If they seem to big then I cut back the top however I think will look good.

Mine are about 6 years old. Not sure if this is right but they seem to bloom around mid. Aug. I have never left out all winter. Hope this helps. When I prune in the spring if anyone wants cuttings let me know.
I understand that they are very poison if ingested. So if you have an animal that nibbles!!!

(Julie)South Prairie, WA(Zone 7a)

I have a couple of brugs, and I have kept them in pots. I compared mine to Lynn's this fall, and hers that are planted out in Tagro are much more vigorous than mine, but I tell you what... I was really glad that all I had to do with mine was haul the pot inside while she was trying to figure out how to accomplish digging/potting hers. They do tend to get buggy for me over the winter, but nothing that can't be dealt with.