pruning citrus

Bar Harbor, ME

I am looking for tips for pruning and ornamental Citrus reticulata. I would like my plant to be more bushy. It's watered and fertilized properly and grows nicely in the greenhouse here but I just want it to be prettier (fussy me).

I'm a professional gardener and am well acquainted with the pruning methods employed on the arborescent plants that are hardy in my zone but really don't feel like I have a handle on how to prune citrus. Two questions I have are:

Does citrus grow from old wood (such as yews and rhododendrons do)?
Would I be well served to "tip back the plant all over to get a bushier appearance?

and, lastly, does anyone have experience growing C. reticulata 'Calamondin Variegata'? Does it come true (if it germinates at all...)?

Thanks,
Karl

Bluffton, SC(Zone 9a)

http://www.plantfolks.com/preview/sitebuilder/Plantfolks/CitrusAvailability.html they would know the answer to 'Calamondin Variegata'. I doubt it would come true from seed in fact pretty much no citrus will come true from seed.

Is your orange on a dwarf root stock?? I grow my citrus outside in the ground and mine looked a little strange until they got a heavy fruit set which bent the limbs over making the limbs weep, not sure how to explain better. All my citrus trees started off small on dwarf root stock and the branches grew straight out and up. After a couple of years the all got a good fruit set and the weight of the fruit bent the limbs over and in some cases they bent all the way to the ground giving the tree a nice weeping look. The only pruning I do is to cut off the limbs so they don't end up touching the ground.

I'll take a picture tomorrow of a Citrus reticulata that was as tall as me this spring and is now about 4ft tall, it has maybe 50-60 fruits on it right now. I'm not sure how big you want yours to get or exactly what look you're after so a picture may be the best idea.

Bar Harbor, ME