Will self-fertile kiwi pollinate other varieties?

Lostwithiel, United Kingdom

Does anybody know if the self-fertile kiwi 'Jenny' could cross-pollinate other varieties. We have a huge specimen of a variety I don't know, which has produced masses of blooms the last few years, but no fruit. It was one of my mothers purchases and she says it was supposed to be self-fertile plant.

I don't know if they are female blooms, but I could find out the variety with a little research. A couple of months ago I bought a young 'Jenny' variety and I can't find any information as to whether or not it could pollinate the older specimen.

I was wondering if anyone here would know.

This is my first post, and I am new to both this site and to horticulture! Look forward to hearing back from any wise member in the know!
Ajali

Greensburg, PA

I am not familiar with 'Jenny' However, the other self-fertile kiwi (hardy kiwi - A. arguta, possibly an arggta hybrid), Issai, that I know about is a female because it produces fruits. As such, it is not a pollinator of other kiwi to the best of my knowledge. Since I have a number of other female arguta varieties and they are not producing fruit, I think that is a good bet.

Hope this helps. I would assume that any kiwi vine that produces fruit would be female or need to produce both male and female flowers. I have not heard of any kiwi vine that produces both kinds of flowers.

Lynnwood, WA(Zone 7a)

I just read about Meader which is a male that bears fruit and is self fruitful

Greensburg, PA

Could you post a source? Thanks.

Lynnwood, WA(Zone 7a)

krowten try Willis Orchard Co. I don't know how to link for you.

Greensburg, PA

I was looking for the source of the information that says Meader, a male, is self-fruitful. I found that statement on the Willis Orchard site.