Cover new irises with straw for first winter?

Bend, OR(Zone 4b)

I'm a TBI newbie in zone 4/5. Schreiner's recommends "covering newly planted Iris, especially in areas with cold winters. Soil, straw, pine needles, and leaves are all effective covers. Remove the cover as early as possible in the spring." I have a lot of old hay, but found in the past that it got moldy by Spring when piled on plants (roses) for winter protection. Does anyone out there use straw to cover new irises for the winter? If so, how much do you use - a couple of inches? more? Thanks for any advice you have for me.

Lebanon, OR

we never cover the iris with anything in willamette valley oregon

South Hamilton, MA

We use pine needles when the ground is frozen to protect against heaving. the ground here does alternate freezing & thawing so heaving is possible on MDBs or newly planted irises--like now. If ground is frozen & stays that way not necessary except for the first year.

Bend, OR(Zone 4b)

Pine needles - great idea! I have boatloads of pine needles, and they don't mold. Thanks, irisMA.

Happy Jack, AZ(Zone 5a)

Pine needles don't blow in the wind as bad as leaves do either. Right now our Ponderosa pines are doing a good job of mulching our iris gardens without much help on our part. lol

Edited because my fingers & brain don't work at the same time

This message was edited Oct 12, 2010 10:34 PM

South Hamilton, MA

I like cooperative trees.

Spicer, MN

Last year our forum 'talked' about Alfafa suppliments and DH went out & bought me 50 lbs of Alfafa 'cubes'. What a dear! I made the 'tea' & used the 'straw for covering the Iris. I know, I've read that it really doesn't help that much...but I had the most awesome blooms this Spring, ever! :o)

I had 20 lbs. left so went ahead and made the tea for one last watering and will use the 'mulch' to cover those more exposed.

Who knows what may make a difference? It's kind of why we take a vitamin each day.

Winnsboro, TX