Whats good for fall planting?

Jessup, PA(Zone 6a)

I'm just looking for suggestion for my garden, as everything is dieing back or going to sleep and I've never done any gardening in the fall before.

Any ideas?

Thanks
Elaine

Thumbnail by Jimenez_Garden
Denville, NJ(Zone 6b)

bulbs are always good

Thomaston, CT

If you want fall color, be sure to have asters....also dahlias look great this time of year....and reblooming roses love the cooler weather.....

central, NJ(Zone 6b)

Do you mean you want to know what blooms now? or what to plant now for next year?

Jessup, PA(Zone 6a)

well actually Both, Everything in my front-scape is gone, all i have is snow in summer which never gave their last bloom. So im looking for some color that with brighten up my home.

Also Ive never planted in the fall. So im kinda scared that if i plant stuff its gonna die and i'll be laying in waiting for nothing. I've got the planting jitters /////
I guess it's because i'm new at dealing with flowers and i don't know what to do.

I've only started growing seriously growing the past 2 yrs after i started building my garden boxes

central, NJ(Zone 6b)

Fall is one of the best times for planting hardy perennials. and of course bulbs get planted in the fall.

But for fall bloomers there's mums, asters, anemone, heliopsis, lobelia, rudbeckia, scabiosa, goldenrod, spiderwort, Tricyrtis(toad lily) sedum, some daylilies, some irises rebloom in October

Denville, NJ(Zone 6b)

I have planted a number of plants in fall... and had luck with a lot of them ... but would not plant agastache again in the fall... they did not return

Southeast, MA(Zone 6b)