How do you store dahlias?

Nineveh, NY(Zone 5a)

I am going to be receiving some Dahlia's from my Grandmother soon and want to know how to store them. I am new to dahlia's so I want to make sure I do them correctly and don't ruin them. Any help would be appreciated! =)

Erin

Northeast, WA(Zone 5a)

There are several ways to store dahlias. First let them dry enough to knock the dry soil off. Then you can store them in mulch, or I have read where the dahlia society people, some of them, are wrapping theirs in saran. I have not tried that but think it would be cool. Store them in a place where they will not freeze, but will not be real warm either. Sometimes it is hard to find the right place.

I have heard of people storing them under their houses, in the crawl space, if you don't have a garage. If you do have a garage or storage shed of some kind it would probably work if you have them in enough mulch that they will not freeze.

I am sure someone will come along with better instructions than I have given you, but this is something to give you an idea as to how and where. Good luck, they are well worth the work. (in zone 5 I would say in a cool room in a basement would be best if you have such a place)

(Pony) Lakewood, WA(Zone 8a)

I'm wondering about this too- I haven't tried storing them before, but this year I have some that I really don't want to chance leaving in the ground. I plan on putting them in the garage- it doesn't get down to freezing out there, but I need to know how to best wrap/pack/protect them.

Nineveh, NY(Zone 5a)

Thanks for the useful information. Unfortunately at this time we do not have a garage or shed. We do have a cellar. Our house is 160 years old so the cellar is stone. Maybe they would be good down there?

Erin

Calgary, AB(Zone 3a)