Cannas for 2010 - whose in?

Watseka, IL(Zone 5a)

This is my first time with cannas. Thanks to DIRTYGIRL sending me some lovely starts I am hooked. Only trouble is...winter!

Its soon gonna smack me in the face here. Well, hopefully not real soon, but fall is here and now I am worried on frost.

What do I do with them? I have them in pots! Dare I just bring them in the house? I doubt that they will flourish.. I really do not have a window for them, but anyway, whats the suggestions here?

This one set pods so I am gonna try to take the seed and start newbs next year, but what about the tubers?

(sorry about the sideways pic.. I tried fixing that, but it was a no go!)

This message was edited Sep 28, 2010 9:26 PM

Thumbnail by BLOSSOMBUDDY
Watseka, IL(Zone 5a)

Here is a better pic of the bloom. Later in the season it developed a red stripe on one of the petals. I have no clue as to what it is.

Watseka, IL(Zone 5a)

Same canna, just older....IM HOOKED! But how do I save them through the winter?

cullman, AL(Zone 7b)

wait till the frost hits them the plant will die off, then just store the pots in a cool place (but not freezing).. You could also dig them up and store them some place cool also.. I store mine in my basement all winter in a rubber maid container all in separate plastic baskets that have holes all around for air.
jen

Watseka, IL(Zone 5a)

Ok, so Jon, you said that that one above is called Cleopatra! Awesome.

Here is that dwarf I have... it has a name, but not sure what! It had a flower very similiar to Cleopatra

Watseka, IL(Zone 5a)

Thanks Jen... pot and all works good. I could put them in my crawl space...but probably will have to worry about mice though. EEKS..dang critters...they are thick this year.

cullman, AL(Zone 7b)

put them in the rubber maid bin weather kept in pots or just bare root the mice cant get them through there

Watseka, IL(Zone 5a)

Well, I usually bait the meeces down there, but still.