Eggs in compost and worms

Thousand Oaks, CA(Zone 10a)

Can I put whole uncooked eggs in my compost pile - or just the shells?
Do I put worms in my compost pile to help the process or do they miraculously appear by themselves?
Can ya tell I'm a real newbie at this?
Thanks,

Greeley, CO(Zone 5b)

I wouldn't put eggs for 2 reasons. 1st they will invite unwanted critters into you yard and 2nd it will stink if it does not get eaten. Crack the eggs and put the egg shells in alone.
As for worms, it depends. Do you want or have a "hot" pile. If the temps get too hot the worms will either leave or die. If your compost is cool enough the worms should come on their own if your compost pile is on the ground.
My pile sits at about 140 degrees and I don't think the worms like it that hot. If I am lucky it will sit at 180 on very warm days.
I hope that helps. Keep watching, I am sure you will get lots more answers from the more seasoned composters out there. You can also go through some older posts to find a whole bunch of great information.

Morrisville, PA(Zone 6b)

Question .... what if one hard boils the eggs? Would it be OK to add chopped up cook eggsto compost??

Thousand Oaks, CA(Zone 10a)

Onyxwar: Thank you. I've just purchased a tumbler it sits on a stand that allows you to tumble it. It's easy for me to use and so far I've no complaints. I just can't seem to get the equation right on the browns and greens. Working on it! I guess I'll have to get a thermometer to check the temp. I had an in ground small compost pile I started about 15 yrs ago, and worms came. Had the pile about 3 yrs but could no longer turn the earth with the big fork thing, and stopped composting.
Only me, DH deceased and kids grown and gone, so I only have coffee grounds, tea bags, vege scraps and eggs. I need to remember to buy only a half dozen, as I seem to always be tossing out eggs!