Overwintering hostas in pots

Centennial, CO(Zone 5a)

I have about 5 small hostas still in pots and really don't want to just stick them in the ground only to have to move them in the spring. Suggestions on the best way to overwinter them? Preferred locations and watering-please be specific-I'm still a gardening newbie! These are fairly small plants in small 4 inch black plastic starter pots. Franknjim please speak up-I saw a post that you overwintered over 300 plants!
Thanks!
kd

Maine, United States(Zone 5b)

I have had good luck burying several in their nursery pots along the north side of my house, right up against the foundation and covered the tops with oak leaves. However, one of those was a little damaged this Spring, and I think the cause was being too wet, as there were some mushy roots when I repotted it. So I've started using a much coarser potting mix to improve drainage. Being too wet seems to be the big concern. The hosta I left out in my hypertufa containers all did not survive because they rotted from bring too wet. If I leave any in containers this year, I may tip them on their sides.

This message was edited Aug 21, 2010 8:09 PM

Peoria, IL(Zone 5a)

Last winter I grouped the pots of hostas together on the drive up next to the house, bermed top soil around them, covered with leaves and sprinkled more top soil on top of the leaves to keep them held down. This year I am just putting everything in the unheated garage. No watering. That is what rots them out.

A local hosta retailer digs small trenches in a farm field, places all of her pots in them and covers with leaves.

Frank

Oquawka, IL(Zone 5a)

I am overwintering my potted hostas right in the ground. I did last year (and they are still in pots waiting for that perfect spot!) and had no losses. I live in sand, so maybe drainage isn't a problem here.

Norristown, PA(Zone 6b)