Cranberry Viburnum damage

Atchison, KS(Zone 6a)

Chemical or critterical?

This message was edited Aug 6, 2010 4:14 PM

Thumbnail by Davers
Danville, IN

I'd say chemical, although there is no leaf curling noticeable in the photo. Is the area around your shrub treated, such as by a lawn care company?

Atchison, KS(Zone 6a)

Hi,HooiserGreen and thanks for the response! This bush is twenty years old and has done well as a habitat plant.About three weeks ago this started with wilting overnight.Neighbor does spray broadleaf as well as as power washing garage shop often.The bush sits close to fence and 12 feet beyond it is the garage. My thinking was chemicals but wanted see if anything else would cause this.The bush is 12 ft x 6 ft. Can I save it or is the damage done? Thanks,again.

Thumbnail by Davers
Bloomington, IN(Zone 6a)

Oh, my gosh, that is so sad to see. And, it is still offering beautiful red berries as sick as it is.

Davers, I'm not an expert, but I'm thinking if it's chemical damage, it may be restricted to the foliage. In that case, it should be OK next year. If the chemical has gone into the plant's system, it may still be OK, if it's self defense and healing mechanisms can overcome the assault. Can you ask neighbor what broadleaf spray he uses? Then, you can look the product up and see what active ingredients it's made of, THEN, perhaps an arborist can tell you what the poor thing is up against.

Atchison, KS(Zone 6a)

Hi,sherriseden! The neighbor uses Round-up with a pump sprayer as well as Weed-be-gone.I have another Cranberry Viburnum 75 feet away from it's mate and is very healthy.As of this morning a Firebush and three Red-twig Dogwoods and a Honeysuckle vine (the good kind!) are showing wilt and curling also.(these plants are within 12 feet of the fence.)

Bloomington, IN(Zone 6a)

Oh, my God - Round Up AND Weed B Gone?? Does he have a thing about plant life or what?