Iris Foliage - Is There a Better Way?

Bloomington, IN(Zone 6a)

Forgive this really basic question, but I'm a newbie with irises . . .

- Can you cut the foliage way down after bloom on siberians? on bearded?
- Are there any irises with foliage that will beautifully outlast its blooms?

The only iris I have is siberian 'Caesars Brother' - the blooms gorgeous for about a week, then on to ugly foliage. So, I have a love/hate relationship with these guys! There must be a better way . . .

Does anyone know that better way and can you share?

Sherri

Thumbnail by sherriseden
Hannibal, NY(Zone 6a)

Hi Sherri,

I can talk about the siberian irises. Someone else will help you with the bearded.

What don't you like about the siberian foliage? Usually it stays looking good all year, unlike the bearded. Tell me, or show us a picture of what the foliage looks like now, to make sure you don't have some problem.

The foliage on the siberians feeds the rhizomes, so you really should not cut it back until late fall.

Maybe you could put some later blooming plants, like phlox, next to the iris, to draw the eye away, although I must say, your combo with Caesars Bro and the amsonia is lovely.

Colorado Springs, CO(Zone 5b)

personally, I love the leaves.... maybe because I just plain love irises... but I always trim the outside leave if they start to turn brown, so that there are only lovely green sword like leaves....This is a spring-time shot, but I love even the leaves..
Who takes pictures of their irises after the bloom? LOL!

Thumbnail by naomimade
Cut Bank, MT(Zone 3a)

Personally I like the foliage as it reminds me of one of the nice grasses you can purchase now. It looks lovely centered in the background of your photo and other plantings compliment it as it does them. I would not cut it back, but just let it feed the roots for next year. If there is a lot of brown foliage remove completely from the plant and feed it well.

Bloomington, IN(Zone 6a)