Get Rid of the Bad Trumpet Vine

Sparta , TN(Zone 7a)

Need Help folks !

How do you Get Rid of the Bad Trumpet Vine from landscaping areas ?

It's Bad and Every where . at a friends Place !

Lee's Summit, MO(Zone 6a)

Hand-pulling and Roundup are all the weapons I know of - it's a beast in my yard, too - I keep fighting it and have learned to check for it every day.

Sparta , TN(Zone 7a)

I need two options one for NO flowers .

and one with Flowers .

Please.

Sarge

The same as my previous response - it's a demon to get rid of!

Aiken, SC

I am new to Dave's Garden. I happened upon the forum discussion off the internet regarding the
trumpet vine which I planted in the spring of 2009; one plant to grow up a pergola next to my home
and the other to grow up the front of the pergola. After a little more than a year the plants were lush
and growing nicely, however, I kept wondering when they would start to produce flowers. I started
reading the forum and got sick to my stomach as I had no idea this plant was so invasive and destructive and extremely difficult to destroy. I jumped up and ran outside with my clippers and chopped the plants down. My husband and I then tried to dig up the root which was approx 3/4" in diameter. We could not get to the base of the root as it was now growing under our deck. I read in the forum about a product called "Vine-X Vine and Brush Control. I have spent hours on the internet trying to find out where I can purchase Vine X to no avail. Does anyone have any info - it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. PappysMa.

Here is a link to a google.com search I did - you should find it for about $20/pint online.

http://www.arborchem.com/products.asp?uid=1098&p=12

This message was edited Jul 10, 2010 6:26 AM

Aiken, SC

Which link is that re: Vine-X?

Waterman, IL(Zone 5a)

I see Round-Up has made a product for vines. Round-Up for Poison Ivy. If it will kill poison ivy vines it should work on a Trumpet vine also.