Shibori Needed

(Doug) Murfreesboro, TN

I have finally gotten my garden row of morning glories started. It's this way every year- I have to balance working for a living with gardening. Someday it will be different. Here is a list of what I am growing so far: Kikyo Lace, Keiryu, Flying Saucers, Blue Jishi X Ten Ten, Indigo Feathers, Ishidatami, Shibori Purple X Gray Lady, Purple Flaked Hige, Matsukazi, and White Feathered Hige. These seeds came from the group swap, and these have germinated nicely. I am having more trouble with the germination of these: Blue & Blue Shibori (from a Japanese seller), Tie Dye Blue (from a commercial seller), and Bluish Purple Flaked. On all seeds I soaked them for twenty four hours and then planted in starting mix.

What I would like to add to my grow list is some shibori, deep blue streaks on white. Can anyone offer me just a few seeds? Better yet, does anyone have a couple of started plants they can send me?

Thumbnail by Cibarius

Send me a SASBE and I will send you some seeds, Cibarius. That was quite a nice photo of a Stilt-legged Fly, one of my favorite insects.

(Becky) in Sebastian, FL(Zone 10a)

Cibarius - Glad to hear the seeds from the swap are doing great! I look forward to seeing your blooms! Don't forget to fertilize them, too! :-)

Nice of Joseph to offer you some seeds. I sent you some Purple Flaked seeds that may be what you are wanting "deep blue streaks on white" ... The color is blue to purple stripes on white blooms. But it is an I. purpurea so watch for all those seed pods! ;-)

(Doug) Murfreesboro, TN

I was trying to photograph an MG leaf when the fly landed. It was only 3mm long. So I focused on it and took a couple pictures. I was using a Canon 50mm macro (not a zoom lens). You can see that it resolved the fly's legs and the hairs on the edge of the leaf. I hope to capture some other insects this way during the summer.

Thanks for the offer.